Skip to main content

University Holidays

The university holiday schedule for all regularly appointed staff personnel is as follows:

  • New Year's Day
  • Martin Luther King's Birthday
  • Memorial Day
  • Juneteenth
  • Independence Day
  • Labor Day
  • Thanksgiving Day
  • Day after Thanksgiving
  • Christmas Day

Note: When a holiday falls on a Saturday, it is usually observed the Friday before; when a holiday falls on a Sunday, it is usually observed the following Monday.

Four additional holidays will be determined each year by Rutgers, usually during the end of the winter holiday season.

If you choose to observe a religious holiday, you may charge that day to other paid time off such as Administrative Leave (AL) or Personal Holiday (PH) time.

The 2021 and 2022 University Holiday and Closings Schedules can be found here.